Culture Shock: A Rant in Three Quick Points

August 13, 2010 at 5:35 pm (Uncategorized)

Moving back east from Washington state was a traumatic event.  And because you all know I love a good list, let’s make one.

Culture Shock

1.  The lack of coffee:  I knew I was spoiled living in the northwest.  I knew I truly lived in one of those  indulgent places where five minutes was a long drive to the nearest coffee stand, but moving back to southwest Virginia has literally been coffee hell.  My loved ones have endured daily rampages on the inadequacy of caffeinated beverages in this state, and while I pity them, I cannot stop bitching.

2.  The heat:  Once again, I knew I was spoiled. I  knew the average temp in Seattle (54 degrees to be exact) was a luxury,  but honestly folks, I had completely forgotten what 95 degrees felt like!  I forgot what it was like to NEED to air conditioning and I confess, this is my penance for wondering why in the world everyone on twitter was complaining about the heat. I was so annoyed but I had no clue.  At night, I dream of rain and gray skies. 

3.  Nag Champ Incense:  I did not know incense was a west coast anomaly.  As a firm believer in aromatherapy, I enjoy incense on a daily basis and with its cleansing and calming properties, Nag Champa is my favorite.  Why, oh why, can I not find this savory yet perfumed bliss on a stick anywere in Virginia?  Even the beautiful blue-eyed sales clerk of the local smoke shop looked at me mystified like, “What is this Nag Champa you speak of?” I grumble and I growl on my way out.  Irrational anger overtakes me.

And there you have it, my friends: the top three reasons why I am crabby about being back in Virginia.

1 Comment

  1. Liz said,

    I just remembered another sucky thing about the Southeast. Ticks. (I think you and I are going to end up hitchhiking our way back West before long.)

Leave a Reply

